Legislative Redistricting Map

The Utah Legislature will meet this Tuesday to consider redistricting maps for the House, Senate, Congress, and Utah School Board representatives. The changes in the redistricting maps are in response to the completion of the 2020 census.  Utah’s four United States representatives and 104 state legislators are all elected from political divisions called districts.  District lines are redrawn every ten years following the completion of the census. Utah Legislative Redistricting Committee recommends two plans for the legislature to consider the 15 seats on the Utah State Board of Education (USBE).  Plan 1 from the redistricting committee places the state school board representative for Kane in District 14, containing Beaver, Carbon, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Millard, North Sanpete, Piute, San Juan, Sevier, South Sanpete, Uintah, and Wayne school districts, plus parts of Iron school district.  Plan 2 from the redistricting committee places Kane in District 14 with Iron, Sevier, Piute, Wayne, and Garfield School Districts.  If you would like to review the proposed redistricting maps, please select the following link: https://citygate.utleg.gov/legdistricting/utah/comment_links